#1 – Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis (My 100 Favorite Books)

I was probably around 9 or 10 years old.  It was a normal Sunday morning in church.  I was exploring the building in the moments between Sunday school and the worship service.  Our church had a small library filled with mostly books I had no interest in.  But there was a small section of children’s […]

#2 – The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien (My 100 Favorite Books)

What is there to say about these books that has not already been said?  I suppose everyone who loves this story has their own personal story of how they discovered them.  My story is actually rather regretful.  I think it was 5th or 6th grade when I first picked up the Hobbit and I gave […]

#10 – The Silmarillion by JRR Tolkien (My 100 Favorite Books)

This book was Tolkien’s life’s work.  It was not released until after his death, put together by his son Christopher.  I call it the Old Testament of Middle Earth. While it is not as exciting as the Hobbit, or even as fast-paced as Lord of the Rings (which is itself a bit slow at times) […]

#11 – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (My 100 Favorite Books)

The Harry Potter series is a modern classic.  There have been other books since that were incredibly popular (Twilight, The Hunger Games), but I’d argue that none of them will have the staying power that I predict Harry Potter will. The series is entertaining and imaginative.  One of the best things is the way it […]

#47 – The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan (My 100 Favorite Books)

I remember picking up this book at Borders Bookstore back in the late 90s.  Most of my reading then was Star Wars novels, when I had a break from required reading for my freshman year of college.  I had also read Lord of the Rings and was interested in more fantasy reading.  I believe the […]

#61 – Game of Thrones by George RR Martin (My 100 Favorite Books)

This is the cover of the version of Game of Thrones that I own.  With the tremendous popularity of the television show, I enjoy smugly telling people I liked Game of Thrones before it was cool.  Honestly, when I first read this series I was the sort of person who would do so in secret […]

#94 – Mistborn Trilogy – Brandon Sanderson

At heart, I am a pretty nerdy guy.  I love Tolkien’s Middle Earth and Lewis’ Naria.  I enjoy telling people I read Game of Thrones before it was cool. A few months ago I read Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy.  Simply put, this is some great fantasy storytelling.  Sanderson has written many books and is still […]

Traveling into Faerie and the Lessons Learned

When I first picked up a copy of The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe as a kid, I was mesmerized.  It was in a church library and I found it much more fascinating that the sermon, so I sat and read it during the church service. Then came the rest of the Narnia series. […]

Eucatastrophe and Game of Thrones

I read Game of Thrones back before it was cool.  Back then when people saw you reading a 1000 page tome with pictures of dragons and swords on the front, they probably thought you were just a nerd.  Now its hip and mainstream.  I’ve watched the first three seasons of the TV show and am […]

The Tolkien Reader and Unfinished Tales (Review)

The Tolkien Reader is a great little book for fans of The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings who want to get a taste of stories he wrote that take place outside of Middle Earth. One such story, Farmer Giles of Ham, is entertaining and funny, introducing us to a simple Farmer who through various […]